The Reason for This Blog

I trained horses from age 15-30 before I went and got myself married and had a couple of boys. They are now ages 6 (as of a couple of weeks ago) and 4. You will hear and see a lot of them in this blog.

Now, I am 37 years old and found myself entered into a competition for horse training. You can look up the details and past events for the mustang makeover and even find tons of videos on YouTube.

This year as I watched the finals I felt moved to enter. After I made this commitment to myself I learned that they upped the competition and now its called the Mustang Million. Basically this means that as long as they adopt 1000 mustangs for this competition, there will be $1,000,000 in prizes. Geesh, just the kind of pressure I really need. I will comment more on this along the way, but I want to get to the good stuff.

I have a little stud colt standing in my pasture. His name is Little Joe. When he was born, about 4 years ago, I had a toddler and a baby. I put a halter on the colt, vaccinated and dewormed him, taught him how to lead a little, picked up all four feet, did it all again a month later-and turned him out to pasture. He was weaned from his mom at 7 or 8 months old (I don’t exactly remember). A couple times when I thought he needed deworming, I would stand amongst the herd with my wormer tube held at arms link away from me and the curious colt would sniff it, lip it, and I would shoot it into his mouth. Worked every time.

Since I have barely ridden and trained a horse over the last six years, I decided Little Joe (my 4 yr old stud colt) would be a great horse to get me back in the saddle to training.

In the meantime, my corrals need to qualify for the mustang million and I need a round pen…

20130215-154123.jpg

This is me.

2 thoughts on “The Reason for This Blog

    • Thank you! I am so excited! I agree with you about the horse. I often leave the following quote at the bottom of an email “God took a handful of southerly wind, blew His breath over it, and created the horse.” Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

